top of page

Coping with Postpartum Depression | My Story


When I gave birth to my baby boy I wasn't aware that this daunting feeling, so called Postpartum Depression or Baby Blues do exist in a women's life. especially when a women embraces motherhood which is the best gift by God. All I knew was that after waiting for long 9 months, when baby will come into my life, The feeling of motherhood is going to take me on the seventh cloud. And yes, it happened too! but not in the beginning days of delivering my little bundle of joy. It was amazing feeling when I held him for the first time and then the three days after c-sec delivery at the hospital were gone and here I came home. Unaware of what's happening with me, suddenly I found that I have developed a feeling of left alone. Friends and relatives came to see me and the baby but after they were gone, I found that I was alone. I wanted people to pamper me and talk to me. I used to cry for some or the other reason and yes! for literally no reason. Whenever I talked to my mother on the phone and she used to ask me about my health, I used to cry and was badly needing her to come and love me and pamper me. My husband's job was such that he had to go early in the morning and come home late in the night, entire day and the night too was gone by then. I didn't know maybe the feeling of not being with husband or with my parents was haunting me, but i used to feel emotionally weak and used to cry. The body pain and fatigue caused due to the sleepless nights and constant feeding to the new born were irritating me and made me get out of all this, but at the same time I wanted to love my baby too and was unable to make that special bond alive for the little one. I developed a very strange feeling within me that used to question myself, Am I a bad mother as I have got mood swings after the baby has born and not enjoying my mommy time with baby? One day, I googled it, Thakks to google when I typed "mood swings after baby", it somehow directed me to the article "PPD or Baby Blues»", which acquainted me that such thing exists and I am normal.

Enough of my story, what exactly is PPD?

Overview

Postpartum or Postnatal depression is a type of depression that many mothers experience after having a baby.

It's a common problem, affecting more than 1 in every 10 women within a year of giving birth.

It's important to seek help as soon as possible if you think you might be depressed, as your symptoms could last months or get worst like harming your baby.

With the right support, which can include self-help strategies and therapy, most women make a full recovery.

Symptoms of postpartum depression

Many women feel a bit down, tearful or anxious in the first week after giving birth. This is often called the "baby blues" and is so common that it’s considered normal. The "baby blues" don’t last for more than two weeks after giving birth.

If your symptoms last longer or start later, you could have postnatal depression. Postnatal depression can start any time in the first year after giving birth.

Common Signs include:

  • A persistent feeling of sadness and low mood

  • Lack of enjoyment and loss of interest in the outer world

  • Lack of energy and feeling fatigue all the time

  • Trouble sleeping at night and feeling sleepy during the day

  • Difficulty bonding with your baby

  • Withdrawing from contact with other people

  • Problems concentrating and making decisions

  • Frightening thoughts – it may include hurting your baby

Many women don't realise they have postnatal depression because in some cases it develops gradually.

Getting help for postpartum depression

  • Encourage your partner to seek help if you think they might be having problems.

  • Speak to you health visitor if you think you may be depressed. Many health visitors have been trained to recognise postnatal depression and have techniques that can help. If they can't help, they'll know someone in your area who can.

Don't struggle alone hoping that the problem will go away.

Remember that: a range of help and support is available, including therapy

My take for postnatal depression

Postnatal depression can be lonely, distressing and frightening, but here is how I coped with it:

self-help –

  • Talking to my family and friends about my feelings helped me, I spoke to those whom I have extreme faith in & knew that they would understand me.

  • I took out time for myself to do little things that I enjoy like listening to good music

  • I took rest whenever I got the chance, took a small nap or just lied down to ease the sore back

  • I took a healthy diet to ensure that I am getting proper nutrition

Friends, depression is an illness like any other it's not your fault you're depressed – it can happen to anyone being depressed doesn't mean you're a bad parent, It doesn’t mean you’re going mad,Your baby won't be taken away from you.

Its completely normal if you are going through PPD, just stay active and healthy and believe in yourself .

Do let me know If you are feeling depressed and not able to come out of it! I am always there to help you mommies!


bottom of page